I Come From The Sea

 

Poetry from the Creative Writing Workshop at The Brodrick Gallery/Shirley Goodsell exhibition with Sue Wilsea & Jackie Goodman.

 

I come from the sea

Literally and figuratively,

Historically and metaphorically

I come from the sea

A long line of settlers

dragging boats ashore

Brushing salt-foam from our breeks

Looking up at strange cliffs

wondering about the soil and hope

we might find there.

 

I come from the sea

Rounded and smoothed

Like pebbles

Some long ground to sand

Pressed flat by “me dad an’ me”

Beachcombing for firewood

Hunting out more interesting treasure too

In the flotsam and jetsom

Of the powder-black grain

At the tide’s furthest throw.

 

 

From original notes made at a Creative Writing workshop, ran at The Brodrick Gallery, HSAD, 24/11/16

Excercise 1 – “I come from…”

There is probably more to come on this theme… something to work on a little more.

Published in: on November 26, 2016 at 2:17 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://genizah.wordpress.com/2016/11/26/i-come-from-the-sea/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment